News and
Announcements

Notice of the Average Weekly Wage for 2023

Notice of the Average Weekly Wage for 2023

Pursuant to Va. Code § 40.1-28.7:8, the term “Low-wage employee” as applied to covenants not to compete has been calculated by the Virginia Employment Commission to include all employees and independent contractors who earn an average of less than $1,343 per week.

Any employer who enters into, enforces, or threatens to enforce a covenant not to compete with any low-wage employee as defined by the statute will be in violation of the statute, and subject to a suit for damages, attorneys’ fees, and liquidated damages, and civil monetary penalties assessed by the Commissioner.

Additionally, the section contains a posting requirement for employers which advises, “Every employer shall post a copy of this section or a summary approved by the Department in the same location where other employee notices required by state or federal law are posted.”

Posting a copy of the Code will meet the requirements for notice to employees required under the law.

2023 VOSH Training Conference

The VOSH Safety and Health Conference, March 29-31, 2023,  provides low-cost training for employers and employees in Virginia. Attendees have the opportunity to hear presentations from experts in the field, network with other professionals, and meet with vendors. Pre-Conference OSHA 10 Hour courses will be offered for General Industry, Construction, and Spanish Construction. These Classes Begin On Tuesday, March 28, and conclude Wednesday morning March 29.

Register Here

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry and HITT Contracting Partner for Registered Apprenticeship Program

FALLS CHURCH, VA, January 4, 2023 — At the culmination of Virginia Governor Glenn Youngkin’s inaugural apprenticeship month, HITT Contracting, Inc. (“HITT”), alongside Virginia’s Secretary of Labor Bryan Slater and DOLI Commissioner Gary G. Pan, signed a Registered Apprenticeship Program agreement, making HITT a key partner in providing job experience and technical education for a new generation of construction management professionals in the state of Virginia.

Read more.

Virginia Minimum Wage Increases to $12.00 per Hour

Virginia Minimum Wage Increases to $12.00 per Hour

Effective January 1, 2023, the Virginia minimum wage will increase to $12.00 per hour. All employees covered by the Virginia Minimum Wage Act must be paid at a rate not less than $12.00 per hour. For a list of employees exempted from the Virginia Minimum Wage Act, please refer to § 40.1-28.9 of the Code of Virginia. Please consult the Department’s Virginia Minimum Wage Law FAQs for further information about the law.

Note that while employers are not required to post notice of the Virginia minimum wage, a notice is available for employers who wish to post this information: Virginia Minimum Wage Act Notice.

Innovative Refrigeration Systems in Lyndhurst, Virginia, Receives the Virginia “Sharp” Designation Under the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry’s (DOLI) Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program

Innovative Refrigeration Systems in Lyndhurst, Virginia, Receives the Virginia “Sharp” Designation Under the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry’s (DOLI) Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program

Commissioner Gary G. Pan announced today that the Innovative Refrigeration
Systems in Lyndhurst, Virginia, has been certified as a Virginia SHARP Worksite under the Virginia Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH) Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP), the agency’s highest level of recognition for excellence in safety and health management systems for small businesses.

ESCC Hosts Apprenticeship Signing Event

ESCC Hosts Apprenticeship Signing Event

Eastern Shore Community College hosted Commissioner  Gary Pan, Director Patricia Morrison , and members of their leadership teams for the signing of a Registered Apprenticeship agreement with Peraton Corp.


You may pay for your inspection certificate invoice online. Accepted methods of payment include:

  • Check
  • Credit Card
  • Electronic Check (E-Check)
  • Electronic Transfer (EDI)
  • Money Order
  • Cash IS NOT accepted

If you wish to pay by credit card or e-check, you will need certain information from your invoice, including invoice number and the Virginia number (VA number) of one of the objects. The VA number can be found on the table that appears on the invoice. You will only need to provide one VA number, even if your invoice lists several object numbers.

For all other methods of payment, please follow the instructions on the invoice and the remittance form you received.

Translate »