## Virginia Minimum Wage Act beginning January 1, 2025, the virginia hourly minimum wage is \$12.41 per hour

As required by law, effective January 1, 2025, the adjusted state hourly minimum wage has been established at \$12.41 per hour. This change is based on a calculation that includes the previous minimum wage rate (\$12.00 per hour) and the annual change in the Consumer Price Index (CPI-U) for 2023.

## Annual adjustments to the Virginia minimum wage rate will continue in future years using the same methodology.

## **BUSINESS SIZE**

The Virginia Minimum Wage Act does not exempt employees based on the size of their employer. **Note:** Employees of small businesses must be paid at a rate of no less than \$12.41 per hour if they are not otherwise exempt under the Act.

## TIPPED EMPLOYEES

Under the "tip credit" provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act, tipped employees (those who regularly receive more than \$30.00 a month in tips) may be paid at the tipped minimum wage of \$2.13 per hour. However, an employee's hourly wages plus tips **must** meet the Virginia minimum wage rate of \$12.41 per hour. If they do not, an employer **must** pay the difference to an employee so that they earn **at least** \$12.41 per hour.

Questions? Contact DOLI's Division of Labor and Employment Law:



Virginia Department of Labor and Industry Division of Labor and Employment Law

(804) 786-2706 Laborlaw@doli.virginia.gov



www.doli.virginia.gov