Report A Fatality/Catastrophe

  • All employers are required report any work-related incident resulting in a fatality or catastrophe within eight (8) hours (Virginia Code § 40.1-51.1.D) 
  • All employers are required to report work-related incident resulting in (i) the inpatient hospitalization of one or more persons, (ii) an amputation, or (iii) the loss of an eye, within twenty-four (24) hours 
  • If an employer does not learn of a fatality or catastrophe at the time that it occurs, and the incident would otherwise be reportable to DOLI, the employer is required by law to report the incident within 8 hours of the time that it is made known to any agent or employee of the employer. If an employee dies as a result of the incident, the employer is required to report the death to DOLI within 8 hours of learning of the death. 
  • Medical events i.e. heart attacks are also required to be reported. 

Are you looking to file a VOSH complaint? Click here to learn more.

To Make a Report 

Reports should include:Business name; names of employees affected; location and time of the incident, brief description of the incident; contact person and phone number. 

VOSH Regional Offices

  • View office locations here.
  • Before or after normal business hours or on weekends and holidays, injuries may be reported by calling the appropriate after-hours phone number or pager number for the nearest office.  
  • If unable to reach the local phone numbers, the State Police Duty Sergeant in Richmond, VA should be contacted at (804) 674-2026. 

Central Region Office 
Main: (804) 371-3104 
After hours: (804) 229-4666 

Northern Virginia Region Office 
Main: (703) 392-0900 
After hours: (571) 264-4089 

Tidewater Region Office 
Main: (757) 455-0891 
After hours: (757) 837-2017 

Southwest Region Office 
Main: (540) 562-3580 
After hours: (540) 983-5362 (pager) 

Abingdon Field Office 
Main: (276) 676-5465 
After hours: (540) 983-4362 (pager)

Lynchburg Field Office 
Main: (434) 385-0806 
After hours: (540) 983-4362 (pager) 

Verona Field Office 
Main: (540) 248-9280
After hours: (571) 264-4089 


You may pay for your inspection certificate invoice online. Accepted methods of payment include:

  • Check
  • Credit Card
  • Electronic Check (E-Check)
  • Electronic Transfer (EDI)
  • Money Order
  • Cash IS NOT accepted

If you wish to pay by credit card or e-check, you will need certain information from your invoice, including invoice number and the Virginia number (VA number) of one of the objects. The VA number can be found on the table that appears on the invoice. You will only need to provide one VA number, even if your invoice lists several object numbers.

For all other methods of payment, please follow the instructions on the invoice and the remittance form you received.

Translate »